top of page

Days Of The Week

I want all my friends to be in one place, it’s always been one of my sincerest wishes. I kind of imagine Heaven feeling like a big friendiversary. So when I’m in the position of caring about my friends from afar, I try to keep their faces and adventures in the front of my mind. I’ve been inspired by so many people face-to-face and also by the brilliant women I’ve read about. Sometimes I feel like my fave celebrated artists are my friends too. Frida Kahlo and I never shared paintbrushes but I learned so much from her life story that I sometimes feel like we are student and teacher. Judy Blume and I never exchanged friendship bracelets but when I first read “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret,” I suddenly had a friend who finally talked about what my playground companions and I were too embarrassed to.

I’ve been changed by the art and lives of these women. They’re my good luck charms. Throughout the week, I keep their words as close to me as I would the words of a dear friend:

Art lasts forever! When you get to missing your homegirls, try sending each other short stories / dream journal entries / watercolors / poems / little vids of yourselves playing your new ukeleles. Art is such an intimate human experience and your cell phone can record and send it like a magic wand. And your favorite famous-artist-girl-boss friends? Their power never runs out.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page