top of page

Contrasting Aesthetics


I often imagine legends like Elton John, David Bowie, and Cher when I think of people who embrace their dark and light sides. There is something so incredible about having an alter ego and I’m trying to start incorporating that philosophy into my own life and outfits. Why would you just be one person when you could be multiple?

For the past couple years now I’ve been obsessed with the spooky nature of people like Stevie Nicks and the fabulous goths of the late 1970s and 1980s, also the “Everyday is Halloween” motto is one I have defiantly adopted recently. I’m beginning to not be afraid of changing things up and not sticking to the script, this goes with my life in general and of course my style.

Along with the gods and goddesses I’ve already mentioned, some of my fashion inspirations include Elvira Mistress of the Dark, Pamela Anderson, Morticia Addams, Cher (from Clueless), Dr. Frank N. Furter, Marilyn Monroe, Vampira, Kat Dennings, anyone in Charmed, and pretty much all the Spice Girls. I also love dressing up like my favorite on-screen characters because I love to pretend that my life is a movie.

In regards to life, I like to embrace my dark side. Especially during the winter months, I tend to grasp onto anything that reminds me of warmth, whether that be physically tanning myself, or being decked out in bright colors (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing). I then begin to hinder my creativity because I’m afraid of the inevitability of snow. Although there is an alternative to this confining path, living for the season and enjoying all the good and bad things that come with it.

This realization actually began all the way back in the summer of 2015, I wrapped myself in the rapture of The Cure and I was in love with their gloomy yet blissful tunes. This band, especially the 1992 Wish album, was the soundtrack of my salad days. His songs are truly beautiful and radiate happiness, while still keeping that gothic and spooky tone we all know and love.

There is a certain ecstasy that gothically inclined people experience, the best way I can explain it is that when you honestly love and enjoy the dark, you can appreciate the light. I also think it’s so important to not wish away your days, whether it’s hundred degrees outside or it’s below zero, every season and every day of your life has something to offer so go out there and let it intoxicate you, get high on life (freaks and geeks reference), and don’t waste another year where all you do is hate your current state of living. Go outside and make a snow angel (or demon), drink your favorite spiced drink or latte, read a scary story or watch a horror flick, and don’t be afraid to live unconventionally.

Here are some of my favorite DARK and LIGHT films and music.

(P.S - I may have mentioned some of these in the past but I mean what are you gonna do, I rewatch my favorite films all the time, that’s what makes them so great)

Movies

Gypsy 83 (2001) dir. Todd Stephens // The Doom Generation (1995) dir. Gregg Araki // The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011) dir. David Fincher // Interview with a Vampire (1994) dir. Neil Jordon // Practical Magic (1998) dir. Griffin Dunne // The Craft (1996) dir. Andrew Fleming // The Woods (2006) dir. Lucky McKee // Edward Sissorhands (1990) dir. Tim Burton // Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) dir. Jim Sharman // Ginger Snaps (2000) dir. John Fawcett

Music

Siouxsie and The Banshees // The Cure // Esoterik // The Moody Blues // Echo and the Bunnymen // Fleetwood Mac // Lou Reed // Joni Mitchell // Joan Baez // Hole

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page