top of page

I Am A Rock, I Am An Island


A winter's day. In a deep and dark December.

I am alone. Gazing from my window.

To the streets below. On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.

I am a rock. I am an island.

I have my books, and my poetry to protect me. I am shielded in my armor. Hiding in my room. Safe within my womb. I touch no one, and no one touches me.

Don't talk of love. Well I've heard the word before. It's sleeping in my memory. I won't disturb the slumber. Of feelings that have died. If I never loved, I never would have cried.

And a rock feels no pain and an island never cries.

Dancing With Myself // Songs to dance to when you’re all alone and your only companion is a symphony

1) Oh! Sweet Nuthin' by The Velvet Underground // 2) Gypsy by Fleetwood Mac //3) For What It’s Worth by Buffalo Springfield // 4) The Oogum Boogum Song by Brenton Wood // 5) Rocket Man by Elton John // 6) The Only Living Boy In New York by Simon and Garfunkel // 7) Mary Jane’s Last Dance by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers // 8) Californiacation by Red Hot Chili Peppers // 9) I’ll Stop The World and Melt With You by Modern English // 10) Heroes by David Bowie

December has been a very reflective month for me, looking toward the future with anticipation and for once in my life…having the ability to be happy in the moment. I am the first person to preach “You have to like in the now!”, but until recently I had never truly taken a dose of my own medicine. I’ve begun to see life as a page rather than an entire novel and it has allowed me to think so much clearer and as a result, I can live my life how it is intended.

This month I also made the decision to go completely vegan, coming from a dairy filled vegetarian background I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but I am still thriving today. Flushing the toxins out of my body has also allowed me to have less anxiety and even be happier. Different things work for different people, but I just wanted to advocate for this lifestyle and say that it has helped me in a multitude of ways.

Also I have regained a sense of living that is reminiscent of my middle school years, when things weren’t as complicated and I looked forward to summer vacation, not the end of my educational experience. I am more realistic these days, while still having my optimistic soul. Overall, I just want to say that it’s be an interesting month full of true joy.

Memories: having visions of my past lives, dancing alone in my room, connecting with my crystals, taking deep breaths, hearing “Rocket Man” for the first time in years, remembering my dreams, making life changing decisions, munching on late night non-dairy ice cream, Saturday night meditations, making holiday candles, watching portlandia, and feeling bliss.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page