top of page

American Pie

The month of October has been beautiful and cozy. I’ve really been into Americana vibes and static screens. With this insane election going on, some would seek comfort in fantasy movies (Labyrinth in a favorite of mine) or Halloween films, but for some reason this month I’ve been drowning myself in nostalgic hyperrealism. The idea of America, rather than what it currently is, has been a form of escapism for me.I’ve also been trying to spend each waking moment in the now (well as best as I can). I started actually keeping a diary that I write in daily and I’m already so grateful to have it. Senior year is in full swing and the reality of my impending graduation is a constant source of fear, but this month I let myself feel the warm rapture of optimism and it’s been rather lovely. Letting yourself just live your life instead of worrying all the time is the best advice I can give someone. While applying to colleges and figuring out what you’re going to do with your life is important, don’t let it consume you. Enjoy time with your family and go outdoors during the glorious fall weather. Have the time of your life.

Here are some of my favorite AMERICANA movies and songs

Hope you enjoy!

XOXO

Kaitlyn

Films

The Place Beyond The Pines (2012) dir. Derek Cianfrance

My Own Private Idaho (1991) dir. Gus Van Sant

Inherent Vice(2014) dir. Paul Thomas Anderson

American Graffiti (1973) dir. George Lucas

Rebel Without A Cause (1955) dir. Nicholas Ray

Mulholland Dr. (2001) dir. David Lynch

To Die For (1995) dir. Gus Van Sant

Desert Hearts (1985) dir. Donna Deitch

The Long, Long Trailer (1953) dir. Vincente Minnelli

Easy Rider (1969) dir. Dennis Hopper

Manhattan (1979) dir. Woody Allen

Dazed and Confused (1993) dir. Richard Linklater

Almost Famous (2000) dir. Cameron Crowe

Viva Las Vegas (1964) dir. George Sidney

Songs

America - Simon and Garfunkel

Take Me Home, Country Roads - John Denver

American Woman - The Guess Who

Midnight Rider - Allman Brothers Band

The Weight - The Band

Born To Be Wild - Steppenwolf

California Dreamin’ - The Mamas and Papas

Ride - Lana Del Rey

American Pie - Don McLean

Born On The Bayou - Creedence Clearwater Revival

Night Moves - Bob Seger

Dancing In The Dark - Bruce Springsteen

American Nights - The Runaways

Roxy Roller - Sweeney Todd

Freedom - Jimi Hendrix

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page