top of page

Elsa Burgos

Wake up!

For the one this poem is for you’ll never know

stay this soft

don’t let heartbreaks harden you

and turn you cold

you have so much to offer,

don’t you realize?

I wish I could show you

what I see when I see you

uncertainty agobiates but

we’ll get through it

realize that the stars did it good

when they created you

wake up! we can do whatever we want

share a cigarette with me sometime

I’ll be around for a little bit more

perhaps we’re made from the same material

perhaps we met in another life

walk proudly, you deserve the world.

About beating hearts and fantastic worlds.

The shorter looks

the shorter smiles

mutual trust

look away!

don’t perform the tricks I taught you

don’t tell them what we know

don’t treat me like the rest

you and me are build for more than lovers,

something more transcendent

no pain, we’re something else

something I haven’t figure out quite yet

stay in your seat, don’t make a fuss

I know they make you mad

but they don’t matter

don’t take your mask off, they’ll never know it’s us

from ancient times here we are again

from the cigarette we shared on the street

to the coffee talks every morning

talk about fantastic worlds, I like this one

keep driving we’ll be late to watch the sunset

talk about adventures, I like this one

I like looking beside me and finding your eyes

don’t tell them about the monsters we fought

we’ll keep these battles for ourselves

don’t tell them about the life we’ve been living

after all we’ve been the happiest

don’t tell them about the stranger’s pools we crashed

at midnight

these days will remain in our heads

until we meet again.

Coral sands motel.

The Motel lights blinded us

while the clock almost marked 2:00 a.m

we were dazzled and dripping

from too many hours on the road

you looked at me, you said ‘’We’re here, darling’’

and I smiled ‘’I need some coffee if we’re gonna stay awake’’

you said we were going straight to bed

we woke up the next morning and

had breakfast at the diner beside

that Motel was our home for 4 or 5 days

until we hit the road again

off to Vegas we go,

I’m living in my own magical world

with you

you and me, me and you

enjoy it while it lasts

enjoy it while we’re still unknown from the rest

while we can still kiss on the street

I see stars anyways when you look at me

now I’m starting to know all the coffee flavors

around the country

those are my kind of cheap thrills

yours are seeing every place

really quietly and then telling me about it

I love when you tell me all those stories

when we come back you can tell them all of ours.

Drive, drive, drive.

Light up the cigarette

get into the car

and drive, drive

take me with you

we’ll see where we’ll end up

you know more about me than any other boy

with only a few words crossed

because you see right through

because you’re transparent like a drop of water

and we’re not saints, we make mistakes

and how beautiful is that?

we’re imperfect, we’re allowed to make mistakes

we’re allowed to do whatever we want

we’re allowed to be whoever we want.

Can’t be that.

I can’t be that person

that person you want

not free

perfect

I’m so much more than perfect can offer

I make mistakes

you act like you don’t

I don’t wanna be that person

the one you want me to be

I wouldn’t like her

she wouldn’t be honest

she’d be in a cage

like a constant drizzle on my shoulders

cold and rusted

I can’t be that person

you try and be that person

see how miserable you’ll end up.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page