top of page

An Interview With: Nyome

Hey Nyome, thank you so much for wanting to take part in this magazine article,

I have known you from finding you over Instagram, looking for style inspiration , I

fell in love with your blog posts and I love how you were modelling too. Your photos are literally to die for,

how long have you been blogging and modeling for?

Ah thank you so much for the compliment; it means a lot I have been modelling a lot longer than I have been blogging. I started Modelling two years ago (this coming July) WOW time really flies. I started my blog www.curvynyome.com last October, I wanted to start a platform where I could share my outfit and style picks and be able to document my modelling journey with any one who wished to follow. My blog has slowly changed more into lifestyle blog and really surrounds body positive posts and how to deal with anxiety and my struggle with it. I want to help as many women as possible, and just empower them to go for their goals regardless of what society or people say!

Do you have any influences online?

I think I do…don’t want to sound to big headed haha, I would say I influence women to be themselves and to take pride in owning their body and who they are, its not an easy thing trying to pursue a career path that is not the easiest to break into; when for example our bodies may not be the right shape for what the industry needs! I am not personally talking about myself, but a few of my friends struggle to find work due to not having the “correct measurements” . I wouldn’t say I am an influencer yet…. I hope to be one day though.

How did you come about modeling?

I began my career after I entered the simply be Catwalk Contender competition. It was a Model search and the chance for four plus girls to go to NYC and film for the Simply Be Christmas advert and basically catapult the lucky ladies modelling career; whilst in NYC the four winners of the initial competition were judged again at the winner was picked from the final four. I got down to the final thirty girls selected for the competition but was not picked for the final. After the competition, I got the modelling buzz..I LOVED being infront of the camera and being able to strike the most fierce pose possible! I have been pursing this career and my passion ever since (Being a bomb ass model) loool I’m kidding.

We have both spoken before about how the industry still needs a ton of changes, although we are seeing 'plus size ' models, agencies are still quite tricky to get into. What do you think the issue is with agencies and what needs to change?

I think the issues with agencies is that every agency is looking for a specific look...and if you do not have the specific look it is not a walk in the park trying to get signed. I don’t think that social media and followers or how many people know your name within the industry should be so much of a large factor in getting signed; as not every woman is tech savvy or feels comfortable exposing herself on social media. There could a number of women with a smaller following who are making an impact daily but who are not as well known. This does not mean that they would not make a wonderful model…while picking up a following later down the line.

I also feel that if a women is not the right fit for an agency they have applied for, that the agency takes the time to replay and explains why the fit wouldn’t match and give feedback

on what was wrong with the application made; so the next time she applies she has a guide of how to go about applying the right way! The not knowing WHY the answer was no to being signed is the killer with agencies.

Love the fact that you are so beautifully honest and upfront with your captions on your modeling, has that made you more confident the way you can be online?

It definitely has, 2 years ago I would never have dreamed of being able to be so open and free with the words I post under my pictures. The fact that I inspire people has brought my confidence on. Me being able to express that I am comfortable in my own skin but also letting my followers know that it is ok sometimes to not be comfortable all the time and to let them know that I have days when I struggle to be confident and really find it hard to be sexy.

What are your dreams for future modeling goals, is modeling the career you want?

My future goal is to keep growing as a person and continue on this path.

I will continue to find work by reaching out to like-minded people and brands and network super hard. Even reach out to those brands that are very one-dimensional minded and let them know that I am here; and want to make a change in the Plus Size modelling world. To challenge conventional standards of beauty and the body standard that they’re currently is! To implement a change and to include all body types and shapes. YES modeling is the career I want, whether I get signed to a Plus Agency or not I will never stop as I am doing something positive for others and myself. I will also continue to blog as I really enjoy it. It’s very therapeutic for me.

Do you have any other hobbies aside from fashion?

Yes I love film, I really enjoy the cinema and comic book movie adaptions, (Everything Marvel and nothing DC) lol I have recently started meditating this has become a hobby as I do it every day because it brings peace and I am learning to reach a higher state of conscious awareness.

I love to spend time with my friends and my cousins, as we are really close and to create memories, as that is what life is about! Being very social…I am good at that.

What do you desire for the future for yourself?

Happiness and Health Always.

Quick fire questions:

Favourite lipstick?

I have two Ruby Woo by Mac and Royal Matte also by Mac

Favourite hairstyle you have had?

My current, it is short and I am loving it (so easy to manage)

Favourite season for outfits?

WINTERRRRRR! There are just so many outfit options in the winter time over the knee boots,

uggs, trainers. Then you have thick scarves, beanie hats and shearling coats drooling everywhere. Seriously I love the winter!!

interview by Layla Allen

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page