top of page

Invisible Pain

'Invisible Pain' a body of work that explores the unseen agony that 1 in 10 women suffer with in the UK. Both my sister and cousin have the condition Endometriosis, and my work demonstrates the unbearable pain they go though which makes for a complicated lifestyle. Endometriosis is a condition where tissues that behave like the lining of the womb, is found outside in places such as the ovaries,the bowel or bladder. To create these photographs, I asked my sister and cousin to manipulate the coloured paper to show what is feels like to have this condition. They ripped, screwed, cut and stuck a knife into the paper to crate these beautiful paper sculptures. The quotes underneath the images are taken from a diary my mum kept in the three years my sister struggled to handle her condition.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page